#60 Highlights of a mild-case of winter blues…

“Behavioral Psychologist Donna Dawson said: ‘Cabin Fever is a real phenomenon that takes place during the dark winter months, particularly January. The lack of sunlight can make us feel lethargic and depressed, and the lack of exercise and the fact that we are cooped up in a stuffy, centrally heated house can make us feel edgy, irritable and stressed.’”

 January is a tough month. I’m glad it’s almost over! I mean January has its great moments but overall it’s a tough month to get by. Now I know why, thanks to the above quote I read in an article today. Cabin fever, lack of light, less finance due to the holiday season, fake air, you name it. January just sucks. It’s like the writer’s block you have to get passed or the 2/3-marathon mark when you are running a full marathon (not that I’ve ever done that) or when you are half-way into a new project and everything goes wrong and you just have to hold it together to get to the end. That’s how this mild-case of winter blues feels sometimes. Like: (inner thought) ok … breath, think of the sun at the end of the winter tunnel. Think of your achievements… like the little things. Managing to hit Pilates twice a week. Booking a trip across the pond. Baking pão de queijo, Brazilian delicacy, for the first time in your life (if you haven’t you should try it, they are absolutely delicious). Being able to keep up with daily writing hours no matter what. Also enjoying your family by taking small breaks with them between the work madness and the winter blues. My husband, our dog and I even managed to go sledding. I hadn’t been on a sled since my teen years in Evanston, IL. That was fun I must admit.

Photo by Juliana Lima Dehne © 2013

Photo by Juliana Lima Dehne © 2013

 I mean don’t get me wrong. I do like the winter. I like the snow, the smell of winter, the stillness, the warm inside/ cold outside reality, hot chocolate (though I haven’t had one this winter). There is something very creative about the wintertime that makes my want to just close myself off and write all the time, like ALL the time, almost obsessively. This makes me appreciate the wintertime even more, but I could do without the January dip, the lack of light and the short days. I really could.

Hopefully this feeling will soon enough vanish from my short-term memory like any other year, and get buried away in my long-term memory archives, tactically and unconsciously preparing my brain for next year’s dark winter month… that said you might encounter the same blog entry this time, next year… sorry in advance. And don’t forget to make a list of the little achievements. The list will grow and so will your endurance. In case you – like me – suffer from a mild-case of Winter Blues.

2 thoughts on “#60 Highlights of a mild-case of winter blues…

  1. February is my birthday month so I admit to favoritism. I know, I know. It’s really unfair to January. I hope she never finds out. 🙂
    Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

