#73 Practice. It does a brain (and your writing) good.

I’ve gotten to the point where I click on “new post”, dish something out and publish the Monday Blog Series within a an hour or so of my (Mon)day.

Sometimes it is good, sometimes it’s not so interesting but it’s a deal I’ve made with myself so I would enforce discipline to become a professional writer. I truly believe that one can only become very good at one’s creative craft, or anything that involves vision and actually making it happen, through discipline and tenacity. The cliché “never give up” is a cliché for a reason:  It’s true. “Never give up” really means “never give up”. It’s one of the few clichés you should take to heart if you want to succeed. (material for another blog)

Today, however, I have started three posts and wasn’t satisfied with either of them. And here I am I’m still rewriting this one. I’m rewriting my own blog post for the first time in a long time. At first I use to write a blog entry, send it to my husband, my trusted reader, get notes, rewrite it a couple more times, get an approval or a positive comment and then publish it. As I got better at writing, or at least less insecure about it, I stopped needing any form of approval, though feedback is always welcome, and would write it, send it off, sometimes get feedback in time to publish it and sometimes not.

Then work started coming in and time sort of went down the drain. So I stopped opening a word file all together and instead open(ed) WordPress directly and start(ed) typing. I used to have an idea of what I wanted to write about the day before, but now I don’t. I click on “new post” and let a few minutes of staring at the blank computer screen sink in and something usually pops up. I write it, proofread it, sometimes I miss a typo here and there, and publish it right away. I’ve stopped sending my blog entries to my trusted reader all together (though I still ask for feedback once it has been published).

I must add that what pops up every single Monday isn’t thanks to some divine force that comes down from the heavens and strikes my brain with a brilliant idea, or two not so brilliant ideas ( I wasn’t born a genius – I know, I was also disappointed when I found that one out) but rather discipline has conditioned my brain to act faster and my ears and eyes to be on the constant look out for stories, ideas or even new solutions to tackle current writing problems.

Like I said, sometimes my blog entries are good, but sometimes they lack any real “”oomph”. It’s ok. It’s like any professional athlete or musician out there. Some days performance is high, other days not really, other days it may even completely suck, but what matters is consistent training/practice (+ process? => another topic) and then performing when it really counts.

So I see my blog as part of my training routine. It doesn’t make my screenwriting better, but it sure taught me discipline  that directly affects my writing which in turn affects my script or a script I’m working on. 

Today I’m writing, and then rewriting, and then rewriting again. Am I tired? Unfocused? Not inspired? No. It’s the exact stage I’m in with my own screenplay and I think this is a direct reflection of that. So I’ve left the mistakes in, the sentences scratched out, instead of deleting them, and the thoughts in blue, because that’s what exercise looks like and writing requires lots and lots of it.

I guess today is a practice kind of day. It does the brain good.

(note to self: go running later, not Forrest Gump style. It’ll do the body good)

Forrest Gump ©

Forrest Gump ©

Leave a Reply

