#81 Process within the process… a slice of progress.

My husband nabbed some tickets to go see the ballet today. Actually a dress rehearsal of what will be tomorrow the premiere of Entrances/Exits. A commissioned piece for the Munich National Ballet by Richard Siegal entitled UNITXT. Beautiful to say the least. The second act of the evening was composed of Merce Cunningham’s BIPED. Though the latter was a very difficult piece to dance, I was taken by the first piece. Both contemporary ballet pieces. And I’m usually not a fan of contemporary a many-things because it doesn’t speak to me. Mostly due to the fact that I don’t know in-depth about every contemporary something out there and to really appreciate it you’ve got to know it. I do know dance though. I danced for a decade before I stopped and went onto other things. I know the process, the discipline, the tenacity and the passion involved. I still cry to this day when I see an amazing dancer on stage. I haven’t danced in over 15 years, and I know very little of the dance world today (it’s enough to know one creative business well – it takes up most of one’s time) so I tend to enjoy it as an audience member but today, for some reason, the pieces made me think about the process. 

I think this knowledge of the process made today’s viewing quite magical in a way. Knowledge of technique gives you an even greater sense of how absolutely wonderful something is. Execution of that knowledge and the process come together on stage for what we see as an “end result” but it’s really just the combination of those two things. I think those who actually work in different creative businesses never really see an end result, just the time running out of an imposed deadline of sorts. We are usually content with the “performance” side of our craft, but I don’t think every really satisfied.

“Art is a way of life. You either accept it and dedicate your life to it or find another job.”

I’m sure my father’s words were much more eloquent than the ones engraved in my brain, but the gist is the same.

An artist’s work is a continuous lifetime process. A writer’s work is no different.

A film may be a tangible end to a screenwriter’s effort but it is by no means an end in itself.

I thought about process thanks to the performances today and I though about how lucky we are that we get to go to the ballet and call it work, inspiration, part of the process. 

A film may be a tangible end to a screenwriter’s effort but it is by no means an end in itself. 

An artist’s work is a continuous lifetime process. A writer’s work is no different. 

I’m sure my father’s words were much more eloquent than the ones engraved in my brain, but the gist is the same. 

“Art is a way of life. You either accept it and dedicate your life to it or find another job.”

I think this knowledge of the process made today’s viewing quite magical in a way. Knowledge of technique gives you an even greater sense of how absolutely wonderful something is. Execution of that knowledge and the process come together on stage for what we viewers, audiences, see as an “end result” but it’s really just the combination of those two things. I think those who actually work in different creative businesses never really see an end result, just time running out of an imposed deadline of sorts. We are usually content with the “performance” side of our craft, but I don’t think every really satisfied. 

My husband nabbed some tickets to go see the ballet today. Actually a dress rehearsal of what will be tomorrow the premiere of Entrances/Exits. A commissioned piece for the Munich National Ballet by Richard Siegal entitled UNITXT. Beautiful to say the least. The second act of the evening was composed of Merce Cunningham’s BIPED. Though the latter was a very difficult piece to dance, I was taken by the first piece. Both contemporary ballet pieces. And I’m usually not a fan of contemporary a many-things because it doesn’t speak to me. Mostly due to the fact that I don’t know in-depth about every contemporary something out there and to really appreciate it you’ve got to know it. I do know dance though. I danced for a decade before I stopped and went onto other things. I know the process, the discipline, the tenacity and the passion involved. I still cry to this day when I see an amazing dancer on stage. I haven’t danced in over 15 years, and I know very little of the dance world (it’s enough to know one creative business well – it takes up most of one’s time) so I tend to enjoy it as an audience member but today, for some reason, the pieces made me think about the process. 

balletThe process within the process. What we get to see is a slice of the progress.

One thought on “#81 Process within the process… a slice of progress.

  1. Ju, est muito interessante, mas no entendi se saiu errado com a repetio de sentenas, ou se foi intencional fazer algo circulando e voltando ao mesmo pargrafo…

Leave a Reply

