#83 I just want to close my eyes…

…and sleep.

Sometimes you just want to close your eyes in the middle of the day, in the middle of an important meeting, in the middle of work and just sleep. Transport yourself to the clouds and hang out in some other dimension for a bit. As a child I used to be fascinated by clouds and the thought that one could play on them like fluffy pillows and eat them like sweet cotton candy. Every time I found myself on a plane I would close my eyes and pretend I was actually outside sitting on the wing waiting for a good moment to jump in. Much like the diving board at our local YMCA. Except I was too chicken to jump off a diving board and never quite made it to the wing of any airplane.

dehne lima film südtirol 2013 clouds

I recently started going back to my cloud day dreams, even though science class killed the childhood cloud fantasy ( who would’ve ever thought that you’d just fall right through if you really were to walk on a cloud?). I sometimes do close my eyes and imagine myself up in them again. Somewhere far away from everyday reality. A place where there is comfortable silence and a light warm breeze. A place where nobody speaks to you, nobody asks questions, no decisions are to be made.

dehne lima film südtirol 2013 clouds

Some people call it meditation, I call it swapping places with my inner child.

In the middle of the day, when nobody is looking, nobody is paying attention, sometimes I just want to close my eyes and sleep in the clouds. Yes clouds. Not just anywhere. Clouds  up there making it hard for everything down here to reach me.

Not for long, just a few minutes, a few long minutes at a time.

Sometimes.

dehne lima film südtirol 2013 clouds

Leave a Reply

