#87 Post-writing blues…

… I just finished writing a screenplay and have handed it in.

I feel a dip. The writing adrenaline is gone. I’m sad. Like the day after wrapping on a film set.

Now what?

Well technically I have 3 pitches, 1 treatment and a new screenplay to work on plus the rewrites on what i just handed in, BUT I’m sitting staring at my computer like magical monkeys will jump out of it at any minute. I think I might have the post writing blues. Has anyone had it? Does it exist? I already miss the world I inhabited for the past 2 months. No there were no magical monkeys in it, even though I expect them to jump out of my screen right now, or pink elephants – like the scary one in Dumbo. What were they thinking? That scared the shit out of me when I was a kid. Dumbo and Bambi are possibly the two scariest movies I have ever seen in my life. Well, Natural Born Killers and Clockwork Orange at the age of 13, were also premature calls and made my top 5 list of the scariest movies I have ever seen and truth be told, I haven’t been able to watch either since those grunge days when Kurt Cobain was still alive.

Ok, I’m definitely having the post-writing blues – my thoughts are mush and nothing I say, I mean write, makes sense. I miss you fictitious characters I made up and have grown fond of. Luckily we get to see each other again thanks to rewrites. It’s not over yet guys!

Today my mind is mush and foggy with a light chance of rain but tomorrow it will be better.

Have a great productive week everyone!

keep-calm-and-just-relax-2

ps: I forgot to push the publish button yesterday. Doh! (a la Homer Simpson).

Leave a Reply

